Awards‎ > ‎

ACS Award for Computers in Chemical and Pharmaceutical Research

Since 1984, The ACS Award for Computers in Chemical and Pharmaceutical Research has annually recognized outstanding individual achievement for the use of computers in education, product development, or research in the chemical and biological sciences. The award consists of a cash prize ($5,000 plus a $1,000 travel allowance to attend the meeting at which the award will be presented) and a certificate.  Awardees are selected without discrimination regarding nationality, age, gender, disability, race, religion or sexual orientation. Nomination forms are available at the ACS Website. Please note that the winners are selected by the ACS Awards committee, not by the COMP Division.
  • Computers in Chemistry (COMP), American Chemical Society, 2012-present
  • Accelrys, 2011 
  • Computers in Chemistry (COMP), American Chemical Society, 2010
  • Schrödinger, 2008-2009
  • Accelrys, 2001-2007
  • Computers in Chemistry (COMP), American Chemical Society, 1999-2001
  • IBM North America, 1996-1998
  • Digital Equipment Corporation, 1984-1995

Previous recipients

  • Jürgen Bajorath,University of Bonn and University of Washington (Award for 2018)
  • Yvonne Martin, Abbott (Award for 2017)
  • Warren Hehre, Wavefunction (Award for 2016)
  • David Case, Rutgers University (Award for 2015)
  • Martin Stahl, F. Hoffmann-La Roche AG, Basel, Switzerland (Award for 2014)
  • H. Bernhard "Berny" Schlegel, Wayne State University (Award for 2013)
  • Weitao Yang, Duke University (Award for 2012)
  • Thom H. Dunning, Jr., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (Award for 2011)
  • Kenneth M. Merz, University of Florida (Award for 2010)
  • Mark S. Gordon, Iowa State University (Award for 2009)
  • James A. McCammon, University of California, San Diego (Award for 2008)
  • Emily Carter, Princeton University (Award for 2007)
  • Johann Gasteiger, University of Erlangen-Nurnberg (Award for 2006)
  • Peter Willett, University of Sheffield, England (Award for 2005)
  • W. Graham Richards, University of Oxford (Award for 2004)
  • Kendall N. Houk, University of California, Los Angles (Award for 2003)
  • Irwin D. Kuntz, University of California, San Francisco (Award for 2002)
  • Martin Karplus, Harvard University (Award for 2001)
  • Donald G. Truhlar, University of Minnesota (Award for 2000)
  • Corwin H. Hansch, Pomona College (Award for 1999)
  • William L. Jorgensen, Yale University (Award for 1998)
  • Harold A. Scheraga, Cornell University (Award for 1997)
  • Norman L. Allinger, University of Georgia (Award for 1996)
  • Peter A. Kollman, University of California, San Francisco (Award for 1995)
  • Michael J.S. Dewar, University of Florida (Award for 1994)
  • W. Clark Still, Columbia University (Award for 1993)
  • Ernest R. Davidson, University of Washington (Award for 1992)
  • John A. Pople, Carnegie-Mellon University (Award for 1991)
  • Peter C. Jurs, Pennsylvania State University (Award for 1990)
  • Christie G. Enke, University of New Mexico (Award for 1989)
  • W.A. Goddard III, California Institute of Technology (Award for 1988)
  • W. Todd Wipke, University of California, Santa Cruz (Award for 1987)
  • Raymond E. Dessy, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (Award for 1986)