Awards‎ > ‎

Emerging Technologies in Computational Chemistry

The COMP division holds an annual Symposium on Emerging Technologies in Computational Chemistry at the American Chemical Society Fall National Meeting every year. The objective of the symposium is to stimulate, reward, and publicize methodological advances in computational chemistry.  Schrödinger, Inc., sponsors a $1,000 prize for the best talk at the symposium. 
The talks are evaluated at the meeting by a panel of experts based on the quality of the presentation and the impact that the research will have on the future of computational chemistry and allied sciences. The symposium is ideal for presenting your latest and best research on new techniques, applications and software development.

The competition is open to all.  In order to participate, you must submit a regular short ACS abstract via the ACS MAPS system on the ACS web site.   It is also necessary to e-mail a longer (~1000-word) abstract to the symposium organizer. The talks must be original, not repeats of talks at other ACS symposia. The long abstracts will be evaluated and those individuals selected for an oral presentation at the symposium will be notified. The abstracts must clearly explain the new methodology or technology and why the author thinks that it will have an impact in the field of Computers in Chemistry. The long abstracts will be used to select presentations that will compete at the national meeting. Applications for the Emerging Technologies Symposium that cannot be accepted for the competition will be considered for one of the other COMP sessions at the meeting.

Long abstracts should be e-mailed as a single pdf file, with the presenting author's last (family) name as the start of the file name. The file should include title, all authors, the long abstract and an optional figure. Please use a subject of "ACS Emerging Technologies in Computational Chemistry Abstract". Send the long abstracts to:

Prof Carlos Simmerling
ACS Division of Computers in Chemistry
Professor, Department of Chemistry, Stony Brook University

Applications for the Fall 2016 Philadelphia national meeting must be received prior to the deadline of MIDNIGHT EASTERN TIME, March 21, 2016. You will receive a confirmation of receipt of your application via e-mail. Please contact the organizer immediately if you do not receive confirmation within 1 week after the deadline.

 Past Winners of the Symposium on Emerging Technologies competition
Fall 2015 Denis Fourches
Fall 2014 Alex Tropsha
Fall 2013 Paul Zimmerman
Fall 2012   
Fall 2011 Matthias Rarey
Fall 2010 Howard Feldman
Fall 2009 Julien Michel

Fall 2010           Matthias Rarey and Karen Schomburg, Center for Bioinformatics, University of Hamburg 
Fall 2009
Fall 2008 
Fall 2007
Fall 2006
Fall 2005