Recent COMP News‎ > ‎

COMP Award Winners for the San Diego meeting (spring 2012)

posted Mar 26, 2012, 6:05 AM by Emilio Xavier Esposito   [ updated Mar 30, 2012, 11:41 AM by Sara Swift ]
The COMP Division is happy to announce the Award winners for the San Diego ACS meeting (spring 2012). 

Please visit the COMP award winners and the other excellent COMP posters at the COMP Poster Session on Tuesday, March 27th, 2012 in Hall C of the San Diego Convention Center from 6pm to 8pm. 

The Chemical Computing Group Excellence Award for Graduate Students
Garrett B Goh "Novel explicit solvent pH molecular dynamics methods for RNA"
Advisor: Charles L Brooks
University of Michigan

Jason A. Wallace "Unraveling the pH-dependence of spider dragline silk formation"
Advisor: Jana K. Shen
University of Oklahoma

Cong Liu "Computational studies on CO2 activation using transition metal catalysts: In consideration of homogeneous and heterogeneous catalysis"
Advisor: Angela K Wilson
University of North Texas

Adrian W Lange "Recent developments and progress with polarizable continuum models"
Advisor: John Herbert
Ohio State University

The OpenEye Outstanding Junior Faculty Award
Patrick Charbonneau “Monte Carlo Algorithms for Studying Microphase and Cluster-Crystal Formers”
Department of Chemistry, Duke University

Lasse Jensen "Understanding and controlling molecule-plasmon interactions"
Department of Chemistry, Penn State University                  

Xiaosong Li "Energy-specific Linear Response TDHF/TDDFT Method for Calculating High-energy Excited States"
Department of Chemistry, University of Washington

Joseph E. Subotnik "Surface Hopping Predicts The Incorrect Scaling for Marcus’s Electron Transfer Rate: Why Decoherence Saves the Day"
Department of Chemistry, University of Pennsylvania

Peter Kollman Graduate Award in Supercomputing
Christopher von Bargen "Simulation Studies of Carbon Nanotubes Wrapped by Chiral Poly-Arylene Polymers"
Advisor: Jeffery G. Saven
University of Pennsylvania